company logo

Help center

Go to ChipHead
All collectionsGames LibraryTerrariaResetting Your Terraria Server World

Resetting Your Terraria Server World

Information on how to reset your Terraria Server World

Summary

Sometimes, you or your players might decide it’s time for a fresh start on your Terraria server. Resetting your world will remove all current world progress and generate a new one. You can do this either by deleting your current world file or by changing your active world’s name.

Resetting Your World by Deleting the Save File

If you don’t plan to keep your old world, the simplest way to start over is to delete the existing world file.

  1. Log in to your Control Panel and stop the server.

  2. Navigate to Files.

  3. Open /saves/Worlds and delete the .wld file.

    info icon
    If you see any .bak files, these are backup files of the given world.
  4. Start your server again, a brand new world will automatically generate.

Resetting Your World by Changing the World Name

If you’d like to keep your current world and start a new one without deleting anything, you can create a fresh world simply by changing the world name.

  1. Log in to your Control Panel and stop the server.

  2. Navigate Startup.

  3. Enter your desired world name in the World Name field.

    info icon
    Once you’ve entered the world name in the World Name field, it will automatically save.
  4. Start/restart your server.

success icon
That’s it! Your Terraria server will now generate a new world while keeping your old one safe for future use.

Did this answer your question?
😞
😐
😁